Home > Berita KBRI > 18th Asian Games

18th Asian Games

18th Asian Games
Indonesia will host The 18th 2018 Asian Games from August 18 – September 2, 2018. Forty-one sports and disciplines will be featured in the Games. This will be the second time that Jakarta has hosted the Asian Games, the first being the 1962 Asian Games. For the first time in the Asian Games history, two cities will host the Games: Jakarta, the national capital city, and Palembang, the capital city of its South Sumatra province. Bandung and three provinces that surround Jakarta and Palembang, Banten, and West Java also plan to support the Games with their existing sporting venues.Indonesia was approved as the host of the Games by Olympic Council of Asia executive board on September 19, 2014.They will host the Games in 2018 rather than the originally planned 2019 to avoid conflict with the Indonesian presidential election.

On 28 July 2016, logo and mascots were unveiled by Creative Economy Board (Badan Ekonomi Kreatif), the Indonesian Olympic Committee, and the Ministry of Youth and Sports of Indonesia (Kementerian Pemuda dan Olahraga). The new logo is based on the roof design of the Gelora Bung Karno Main Stadium that was built for 1962 Asian Games Jakarta, with eight paths leading to the stadium and the Olympic Council of Asia’s shining sun emblem in the center, reflecting the Energy of Asia that shines throughout Asia and the world.


The new mascots reflect Indonesia’s diversity with three animals, each from different regions in Indonesia. Bhin Bhin represents the Cendrawasih bird of paradise, wearing a vest with Asmat traditional motifs from the Papua, Eastern Indonesia Region, which symbolize strategy. Atung represents the Bawean Deer, wearing a batik parang sarong from Central Indonesian Region, which symbolizes speed and a “Never give up fighting” spirit. Kaka represent single horned Javan rhinoceros, wearing a flower motif from Palembang’s Songket scraf that represents Western Indonesia Region, which symbolize power. Together, the combined symbols of their names (Bhin Bhin — Atung — Kaka) spell out Bhinneka Tunggal Ika (Unity in Diversity), the national motto of Indonesia